Seventy: June 29, 2015

Unless you are living under a rock I am sure you have heard about the fact that gay marriage is now legal in all 50 states. Wooo! How exciting. New York City has been crazy the past few days with parades, fireworks and glitter. It looks like a rainbow threw up everywhere. I find it truly incredible. I am not gay but I have met a lot of gay men and women and have many gay friends. I love them and I am so happy for them. If they are lucky enough to find the person they are meant to be with, they can now share their lives together just like a heterosexual couple. People always say oh what’s the big deal about marriage anyway. If you love each other and you are committed to each other, you’re basically married anyway. I’m sorry how many girls do you know that are begging their boyfriends for engagement rings? Yeah, exactly. Marriage is important.

I think if you take a step back though and really look at it, this is an amazing thing. Not just because this is something we thought that may never be accepted but it also is a reflection of us a society. If you look at humans throughout time there have been many occasions of racism, sexism, genocides, wars — the list just goes on and on. However, slowly but surely everyday we as humans change the future to be better and brighter. Think of how the world was 100 years ago. We were in WWI, women couldn’t vote in America, things were “separate but equal”, I mean honestly, it was a different world. I think we should look at how far we have come as a species instead of looking at the bad things. Awful things happen all the time but if you only watch the news and hear about all the negatives in this world it will bring you down. The whole point of this is that humans have come a lot further than we would like to think.

I am proud and happy to be living in America. Where people can be free to marry and love whomever they choose. And you should be too. I hope at some point everyone will be happy about this historic day. As always feel free to comment with your thoughts. Please make sure to like, follow and comment!

Leave a comment